Scholar Advisors

Professor James McPherson

Professor Emeritus at Princeton University and Pulitzer Prize- Winning author of Battlecry of Freedom

Dr. McPherson was born in North Dakota and grew up in Minnesota, where he graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1958. He received his Ph.D. in history with highest honors from Johns Hopkins University in 1963. From 1962 to 2004 he taught at Princeton University, where he now holds the title of George Henry Davis ’86 Professor of American History Emeritus. He is the author of some 15 books and the editor of another ten, mostly on the era of the American Civil War and Reconstruction. His books have won several major prizes, including the Pulitzer Prize in history...

Read More

Harold Holzer

Chairman of The Lincoln Bicentennial Foundation

Harold Holzer is one of the country’s leading authorities on Abraham Lincoln and the political culture of the Civil War era. A prolific writer and lecturer, and frequent guest on television, Mr. Holzer serves as chairman of The Lincoln Bicentennial Foundation, successor organization to the United States Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission (ALBC), to which he was appointed by President Clinton in 2000, and co-chaired from 2001–2010. President Bush, in turn, awarded him the National Humanities Medal in 2008. Mr. Holzer has authored, co-authored, and edited 36 books. The Library...

Read More

Matthew Warshauer

Matthew Warshauer received his B.A. in history from Central Connecticut State University in 1990. He completed his M.A. (1993) and Ph.D. (1997) in American Studies at Saint Louis University. He joined the faculty at CCSU in the fall of 1997, and has served as editor of Connecticut History since 2003. In 2007, Dr. Warshauer won the Connecticut State University Trustees Research Award. Dr. Warshauer’s teaching interests include American political and constitutional history, historiography, sectionalism, the Jacksonian Era, and the Civil War. He was a finalist for CCSU’s Excellence in...

Read More